Long-serving Moy Valley Resources Chairman is honoured

Longstanding Chairperson Moy Valley Resources Denis Michael is honoured at an event to celebrate his contribution to the community development company. David Dwane, new chairperson of Moy Valley Resources. Billy Lewis, longstanding CEO of Moy Valley Resources. Ernie Caffrey, longstanding Vice-Chairperson of Moy Valley Resources.

Denis Michael, who stepped down as Chairman of Moy Valley Resources earlier this year, was honoured at a function in The Great National Hotel Ballina recently.

“Denis has given much of his life towards Moy Valley, with a dedication, focus and energy that has seen us grow into such an important and vibrant community development organisation,” said the new Chair of Moy Valley Resources, David Dwane.

David went on to say that Denis has been synonymous with Moy Valley since taking on the role of Chairman at its inception, and that he had made an enormous contribution to the organisation.

Citing some of the many achievements of Moy Valley during Denis Michael’s time in the Chair, such as the development of the derelict Ballina Vocational School on Cathedral Road, The Quay Units and Kennedy Glasgow House, and the creation of an Enterprise Centre in Greenhills, along with promoting flagship projects like LEADER, Craoibhin, Mayo Volunteer Centre and Mayo North Tourism, David Dwane remarked how much has been achieved during the period.

In his address, Denis Michael said that the continued existence of Moy Valley after so many years is a tribute to the people who founded, built and guided the enterprise along its bumpy, often dangerous, journey.

Denis referred to the important contributions of people like Ernie Caffrey, Terry Gallagher, Margaret Downes, Jim Bowe, Bishop Thomas Finnegan, Helen Fahy, Kevin Walsh, Paddy Bourke, Sean Calleary, Leo Loftus, Padraig Tuffy, Joe Langan, Billy Kilgallon and Padraic Brennan.

He thanked the board, the current CEO, Annette Maughan, and Moy Valley Resources’ first and longest-serving CEO, Billy Lewis, who put form, shape and structure on what was no more than an idea. He also praised the calibre of the management team throughout the years.

“I’ve enjoyed the journey. I got much more from it than any input I made. And I am still learning,” said Denis, who will remain on the board of the company.

As the longstanding Moy Valley Resources Chairperson is honoured, Deputy Chairperson of Moy Valley, Billy Lewis, and Vice-Chairperson Ernie Caffrey both expressed their gratitude to Denis for his contribution.

Both comments and pings are currently closed.

Comments are closed.